About the Governors

Welcome to the Governor section of the website. Here you can find out who your school governors are and what they do.  More information on the role of a governor generally is available on our:

"Governors contribute effectively to the process of school improvement because they are well informed and ask challenging questions."



Our Catholic schools are rightly celebrated for their high standards and outstanding pastoral care, and Our Lady of Lourdes school exemplifies those qualities fully.  There is a real family atmosphere in the school, and we as governors are continually impressed by the caring and thoughtful attitude of the children and all members of staff. As governors we certainly feel part of that family and appreciate the way we are always welcome to take part in the life of the school.  We value feedback from parents and children and take on board suggestions made in questionnaires or verbally and work closely with the Parents Council and PTFA.   As governors we are very aware that we are part of a team, and together with the headteacher, staff, parents and children we relish the opportunity to continue to develop and improve our school.  The Leadership team and governors work together to cultivate first class partnerships with parents and carers, as well as the local community, all of whom play such an important part in the life of our thriving school.

We also work together with the Governing Bodies of other local schools and have formalised this in a Collaboration Agreement.  The Collaboration Agreement of the Deans (local schools) can be accessed by clicking here, and the Deanery Collaboration Agreement (other Catholic schools) can be accessed here. 

If you would like to contact the governing body then please email the Clerk at [email protected].

The School Governors

Every School Governor is a volunteer who dedicates a considerable amount of time to ensure that the Governing Board is effective.

Constitution as of 1 February 2014:
14 governors – Headteacher, 1 staff governor, 2 parent governors, 1 co-opted governor, 1 LA governor, 8 foundation governors

Name Type Appointed by First appointed – end of term Meeting attendance 2020-2021 FGB and committees
Pier Anscombe Staff Elected by Staff 16.10.2005-15.10.2023 15 out of 18
Bola Ayonrinde Foundation Diocese 04.06.2021-03.06.2025  0 out of 1
Paul Barber Headteacher Ex officio 01.01.2020- 20 out of 20
Emma Briggs Parent elected by parents 05.12.2019-04.12.2023 10 out of 15
Mel Fane (Chair) Foundation Diocese 11.01.2017-10.01.2025 15 out of 15
Laura Gibbons LA Nominated by LA, appointed by board 24.05.2022-23.05.2026
Giulia de Rosa (Vice-Chair) Foundation Diocese 18.01.2012-17.01.2024 15 out of 15
Bryan Rossi-Anderson Parent elected by parents 22.02.2021-21.02.2025  5 out of 5
Helen Snow Foundation Diocese 19.11.2019-18.11.2023 15 out of 15
Ian Watson Foundation Diocese 20.12.2021-19.12.2025
vacancy co-opted appointed by GB
vacancy Foundation Diocese
vacancy Foundation Diocese
vacancy Foundation Diocese
Dee Simson Associate Member (Resources Committee) Governing Body 09.10.2021-08.10.2023
The following governors were also serving on the Governing Body in the last year
Chikodili Emelumadu co-opted appointed by GB 18.03.2021-17.03.2022
Dee Simson LA proposed by LA, appointed by GB 09.10.2017-08.10.2021
Sandra Hogan Foundation Diocese 01.09.2009-31.08.2021

Committee Membership

The Governing Body works with the following committee structure:
Resources Committee: Pier Anscombe,  Paul Barber, Mel Fane (Chair),  Giulia de Rosa, Bryan Rossi-Anderson, Dee Simson (Associate Member with voting rights) – Terms of Reference
Admissions Committee:  Paul Barber, Emma Briggs (Vice Chair),  Helen Snow,  Ian Watson (Chair) – Terms of Reference
Strategic Planning Group: Paul Barber, Mel Fane,  Giulia de Rosa,  Helen Snow, Emma Briggs – Terms of Reference
Pay Committee:  Mel Fane, Giulia de Rosa, Helen Snow  – Terms of Reference

Headteacher Performance Management Panel: Mel Fane, Bryan Rossi-Anderson  – Review Officer:  Giulia de Rosa

Link Governors

Quality of Education:  Bola Ayonrinde

Curriculum Subject Areas:  Giulia de Rosa (Communications Faculty), Mel Fane (STEM Faculty)

Behaviours, Attitudes, Personal Development:  Emma Briggs 

GDPR:  Bryan Rossi-Anderson, Ian Watson

Health and Safety:  Mel Fane

RHSE:  Giulia de Rosa

Safeguarding:  Helen Snow

SEND:  Mel Fane

Register of Interests 2021-2022

Name and Category Contracts / suppliers / companies / securities / employment Other Educational Establishments Family members Gifts and Hospitality Organisations / Secret Societies Date Interest was first registered
Pier Anscombe, Staff Class teacher OLOL 15.10.2015
Bola Ayonrinde, Foundation Deputy Headteacher at Little Horsted CE Primary School Little Horsted CE Primary School Has one child at the school 07.06.2021
Paul Barber, Headteacher Brother owns Printing Company CHEC  07.01.2020
Emma Briggs, Parent Has two children at the school, sister Mel Fane is chair of governors 20.12.2019
Chikodili Emelumadu, Co-opted not declared Child at the school 14.06.2021
Mel Fane, Foundation Governor at Cardinal Newman nephew and niece at school, sister Emma Briggs is also a governor 22.11.2017 07.10.2019
Laura Gibbons, LA Class Teacher and Year Leader Balfour Primary School 26.05.2022
Giulia de Rosa, Foundation 23.09.2021
Bryan Rossi-Anderson, Parent Has a child at the school 02.03.21
Dee Simson, LA 23.09.2021
Helen Snow, Foundation Theatrix Theatre Club operating in school hall Child at school 15.10.2015
Ian Watson Binary Stars IT Services Ltd Friend volunteers for Coder Dojo Scouts 23.09.2021